What the Children Will See.

So I am coming to terms with the fact that I do not know technology as well as I thought I was, the word “Digital Native” obliviously isn’t what I am , I am more of in the middle. I know I have a lot to learn, and I know what I learn can be used in the classroom. So I decided to look up ways that Web 2.0 in the classroom and first I was surprised that in the search engine after the word ‘the” a lot of different options popped up like, workplace, library, and future. But for today I only looked at one about in the classroom. Looking up charts about web 2.0 in the classroom showed me that people are collaborating this with Bloom’s Taxonomy of Learning Domains. Each learning domain has different web 2.0 applications that can help with that particle domain.
blooms-taxonomy-apps-picture

What ways can it be used in the classroom? So how can this be used in the classroom? Does it need to be a part of a child’s learning space? How can this benefit a student when in the classroom? So today I’m going to focus on the first question:

What ways can it be used in the classroom?         

So I found the article ‘Web 2.0 in the Classroom” by Barbara Bray and Melissa Alden. They have things on here that I have never heard of before. The article is divided into sections that these new web based programs can help in brainstorming, reading and writing, presentations, and collaborating. So I take two and discuss two in another post.

In the section about Brainstorming they discuss a program called Poll Everywhere. So I went to the website and I was shocked. The teacher can assign a question or topic and the students can text their answers in, creating a poll for the entire class to see. The teacher can look at the process of changing percentages with the information that the students give back. Reading and exploring the website, all types of teaching ideas popped into my head, but kindergarteners really won’t be able to use this, unless I put in the information for which defeats the purpose.

But another application was Wordle, which was a part of the Reading and Writing Section and also in the remembering spectrum of bloom’s taxonomy. This program makes word clouds of different color themes and shapes. This program takes any piece of writing and takes out the most used words from the piece. They give a good example that can be used in even my kindergarten classroom, “Try using Wordle to organize your data instead of a graph. Start one Wordle where you ask your students to come up and put in their favorite color or food. When they are all done, generate the cloud to see the bigger words which are the most popular colors or food.” So now I can work on new vocabulary words such as bigger, smaller, more fewer, and even most common.

Technology is really changing the ways we can teach, and I can’t wait to be able to put all of these new programs to good use!

One thought on “What the Children Will See.

  1. It’s incredible to think that students can now send in a text to give answers to quizzes. I remember that the first time I actually used a computer was in 1995, my freshmen year of high school. I didn’t know anything about typing and my teacher was tough. He took all the letters off the keyboards and we had to learn without looking at the board. I’m ever so thankful for that 3 month intensive course my freshmen year, because without it I wouldn’t be as proficient with typing as I am today.

    But I have to question the fact that everything is on the computer. Is it really a good thing to be attached to a screen all day? Does the immediacy of getting feedback on homework or polls so high that it outweighs the physical health impact on a child since they have to be glued to a phone or a computer for longer periods of time?

Leave a Reply

