Instagram-less

So I took on the challenge of giving up Instagram for a whole week. Why would i want to this? What can I get out of this? How was I even able to do this? Well let me tell you, it was NOT easy! I never looked at my frequent ig usage as being addicted but when i started, i wondered, am I addicted? So throughout my absence on ig i couldn’t help the urge that would take over my body to want to get on ig. After the first day I knew I had a slight problem, but atleast I still had some control over the urge, so this addiction that some people have where social media rules their lives, I can say I am not that addicted to that level.

So what is my level? Well i looked up just that, signs of being addicted not to just social media but to Instagram. So there are lists out here that describe things that a person who is addicted to Instagram, and some are completely me, hands down but others, are way off. So lets throw out a few that apply to me:

7. You find yourself frequently reviewing your own Instagram stream critically to assess what other people might think of you, based on your most recent photos.

6. In bed, after you turn out the light, you give Instagram one last refresh, just to make sure you’re caught up.

20. Choosing the right filter is the most agonizing six minutes of your day.

26. Instagram stalking is your new Facebook creeping, and you’re obsessive with your “clear search history” maintenance.

1. You immediately check your phone as soon as you wake up to see if anyone uploaded any photos after you went to bed.

4. You have a multitude of apps you have to use before you even open Instagram.

7. You are easily annoyed by improper hashtagging.

8. You may have accidentally liked a photo uploaded “56w” ago while stalking someone.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-13727-1378323131-0

9. Your day is a never-ending stream of scrolling.

13. You tend to overreact when you accidentally post a photo before you meant to.

14. This is what you look like when waiting for the first like after you upload a picture.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-4462-1378325901-0

15. You have tried to “double tap” Facebook posts to like them.

19. You’re very concerned with your follower-to-followee ratio.

20. You are constantly checking your phone to see if you got any new likes.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-13134-1378327593-33

Now some things that don’t apply to me:

4. You’ve started to view the world exclusively in squares.

13. The hashtag(s) for your image is of utmost importance #nofilter #OOTD           #throwbackthursday #latergram

22. More than a few times, you’ve chosen your shoes, your manicure, your coffee shop or    your route to work based on it’s “Instagramability.”

27. You’ve turned down a potential romantic partner because of their sub-standard Instagram photos.

25. You have serious opinions about people’s wedding hashtags, and might already know what yours will be.

10. You may have deleted a photo or two because it didn’t get enough likes.

17. Your friends have considered staging an   “instavention” on your behalf.

18. You already have your wedding hashtag picked.

27. Your face is in a permanent state of “duckface.”

26. Your friends hate going on trips with you because you want to stop every five minutes to take a picture.

22. You have a designated friend who takes pictures of you (and you of them).

21. You get irrationally angry when someone regrams your photo without crediting you.

Wow so that list came from two different articles 27 Signs You’re Addicted to Instagram (http://heartifb.com/2012/11/20/27-signs-youre-addicted-to-instagram/) and 28 Struggles Of An Instagram Addict (http://www.buzzfeed.com/ashleyperez/28-real-life-struggles-of-being-addicted-to-instagram) and I was surprised how head on they were! This challenge was just that a challenge!

So i realized that a lot of those applied to me and then it made me think, what effect does all of this have on a girl? Well what do you think? Kim K popped into my mind and all different types of photo shopping on magazines and on the internet! What does this lead to? Eating disorders! These women are trying to get this perfect body they believe they need and look this certain way, and ig I’m sure isn’t helping that. (http://www.beautyredefined.net/photoshopping-altering-images-and-our-minds/)

My experience:

My close friends knew that I wasn’t able to get on ig, but yet they were sending me pictures of screen shots of ig or telling me to look at their phone to show me a picture of something on her ig. So it was hard to not go on, with these daily constant reminders of my want to get on ig.

The day after Thanksgiving, I gave it up and twice I forgot! I posted something and then remembered after i posted it. I thought i was strong enough to do it without deleting the app, but in the end i had to completely delete it off my phone. But i caught myself mulitply times going to the space that the app was at before and i didn’t even realize that is what i was doing.

I have even become a little depressed when I remembered that I couldn’t get on, especially when I was bored. I decided that any other day I wouldn’t get on Facebook so I wasn’t going to start now. So when I got a really strong urge, I downloaded new games on my phone (Cooking and Dress up games) and just played those. When I was bored was really the hardest times not to get on.

Even though I was on ig, I needed to make sure that I wasn’t losing a lot of followers, so i checked my Instafollwers app to see who unfollowered me.

I felt untouched with the world, I didn’t know what my friends were doing or even the strangers that I am now apart of their lives because we follow each other. This didn’t really affect my school work, probably because I don’t spend hours on ig at a time.

I felt down that I couldn’t post things like “#allblackwednesday” for American Horror Story. I just felt very left out, and a little alone.

Would I want to repeat this? No. I am counting down the minutes until I can get back on, but I can say that I AM NOT A COMPLETE ADDICT! YAYYYYY!

2 thoughts on “Instagram-less

  1. Wow that list was almost scary to read. I relate to more than i should. I feel like i’m always telling people they are addicted to Instagram like my boyfriend or bestfriend. However, now im fearing maybe I am? However I have given up Facebook and that is really hard too! But i related to your experience, as I was counting down the seconds also!

  2. I love the list! Some of those are really funny and unfortunately true. Whenever I post a picture on Instagram I do that exact same thing and stare at my phone for the first like. I am definitely going to share this list with friends. I also liked your idea of deleting the app! I’ll have to try that next time.

Leave a Reply

