Open Your Eyes

Ok so this is my last blog post and I really wanna knock this out with a BANG! It has been a pretty weird experience, doing this whole blog thing, especially since I have a hard time every knowing what to say when I put things on the internet (my struggle with Twitter) and doing this blog was no different but easier then Twitter for sure. Pretty sure it has something to do with the fact that I can write basically as much as I want. So I figured a major weakness that I have when it comes to writing is being able to say what I want to say with as little words as possible. Well doing this Pecha Kucha assignment helped me with since I had to explain the point of a picture under 20 SECONDS. So lets talk about the Pecha Kucha. . .

A Walk Through A Slide
So our Prezi dealt with the same topic that my group tried to incorporate into our blog (evident in the title) the effect that images play on society based off of use of Web 2.0 and everything that comes with it. So my five slides dealt with the effect that images can have on little girls, and more specifically the images the pertain to being beautiful. So I chose this image of Barbie, the most beloved toy of almost every little girl in the world, including me. I have yet to throw out any of my barbies, they are packed away in the attic. I had barbie everything growing up, from the mansion to the town house, multiply cars, airplane, beach house, and enough clothes to cloth an army. Barbie to me growing up was one of my favorite toys, so of course I had some thoughts on why my hair, skin, and body didn’t necessarily look like hers or why they were hardly any black barbies on the shelves. So this plays directly into our topic because this is a toy that is everywhere from her own website, music videos, stores, and she even has her own Facebook page. So this toy is what is considered beautiful and we are throwing this in little girls face, who are unselfconsciously being taught that looks matter. So from this, why wouldn’t little girls want to look like Barbie, she is the definition of beauty that society has put out into the world right?
The NY Daily News did an article “Artist recreates Barbie with real-life proportions” which I quoted the measurements of Barbie’s waist versus the average 19 year olds waist size. This slide digs both on the emotional and logically side of people who viewed my slide, really hitting home for the viewers. All of the pictures make an impact but this leaves the viewers with the question of, if this regular shaped Barbie would actually sell? So can some of the damage that has been done, be changed?

“Who looks like this? Her tiny waist to long legs, the face of the little girl industry has been corrupting the views of girls for years. Parents have thought twice when giving toy this to their baby girls. She has the unrealistic measurements of 36-18-33 whereas the average 19 year olds is 32-31-33.”

My other group members talked about the effect that images have on women as a whole, the using of technology to develop this false sense of beauty, while I focus on the effect on the younger generations. This photo makes it clear in the direction that I was taking the focus of our project. But since nothing is perfect, in my narrative I may have focused more on the size and how it is impossible to be that size. I could have mention how Barbie’s life would be if she was real.

 

What I Learned About My Blog Topic
In this class I have done all kinds of readings that have further helped me understand this thing called Web 2.0 and some of things that go along with it. So trying to keep with the theme I decided to research some ways the children now see learning in the classroom, which went right along with what I was learning in my Educational Technology class. In that class I was learning how to use the programs, and the articles talked about the use within the classroom and their effects. So in the article “Web 2.0 in the Classroom” by Bray and Alden, they discuss these new ways for children to be taught with programs that I have heard before but now they are being broken down into ways that the programs can be used. So this directly affected me since I am working to become a kindergarten teacher. These programs will help me, better help my students.

 
Then I found out that there are websites out there that more interactive then the online coloring books or these dressing games. The web has developed in a way that anyone can use it for anything. This is changing the way we look at the internet, especially when it is made to look so pretty. The We Feel Fine website accomplished that with their different “movements” to express the information that was being feed to the user. So if this was a shock to me, I can only imagine what a shock it was for people back in the mid and late 1990’s when Kelly discusses the way people saw the internet. If they could see what it has become now, who know if they would believe it simply because of the responses that some people said about the internet like, “ in late 1994, Time magazine explained why the Internet would never go mainstream: “It was not designed for doing commerce, and it does not gracefully accommodate new arrivals.” Newsweek put the doubts more bluntly in a February 1995 headline: “THE INTERNET? BAH!” The article was written by astrophysicist and Net maven Cliff Stoll, who captured the prevailing skepticism of virtual communities and online shopping with one word: ‘baloney.’” (We Are the Web) Before I never even considered that there would be nay-sayers to the idea of the internet, but this reminded me that with change, there will always be those who don’t support it.

Leave a Reply

