Communication Malfunction

Do Digital Natives Really Suck at Communicating Face-to-Face?

The fact that the title uses the word “suck” instead of “have a hard time” or “Face-to Face Communication: Difficult for Digital Natives” leads me to believe that the author might be a digital native themselves.

What this article says is absolutely true!  My brother and sister are 23 and 22 respectively and they were ever so ecstatic when online pizza ordering became a reality because neither one of them wanted to pick up the phone and call to order it OR answer the door when it finally arrived.  I would try to force them but it became so problematic that I just threw up my hands and said “to hell with it.”  A lot of young people would rather communicate through email or text messaging than go meet with something face to face.  I think it is a responsibility of this generation who is straddling the line between the old ways and the new digital way to make sure that their children aren’t afraid to look someone in the eye.  If you can’t look at someone’s face then you have no business talking to them.  The article mentioned that younger people aren’t very empathic.  This could be a reason why cyber bullying is becoming a problem and why people feel the need to put other people down because there is a sort of disconnect when you aren’t faced with the person you are making fun of and it leads you to become more of an unforgiving person.

One thought on “Communication Malfunction

  1. It is my opinion that digital natives do “suck” at many aspects of communication, face-to-face mostly. However I think there are a lot of ways that we (considering myself a digital native) can communicate in ways to non-natives can’t (or won’t). For example, teens have no problem posting their problems all over tumblr, replying to others’ cries of help and offering support within a blogging website – if my parents found out I had one and I talked about my personal life on it (even though I can keep it as anonymous as I want to keep it), they would freak out and yell until I deactivated my account. (Crazy!)

Leave a Reply

